Summer Peach and Fresh Garden Greens Salad

20130818-133220.jpgA bag of gorgeous Ontario peaches were given to me this morning, so I thought I would toss them into a fresh garden salad.  Nasturtium, lettuce and black kale are from the garden at the Cottage, and I added a bit of organic baby arugula for some extra spice! Other variations call for balsamic vinegar, but since I was unsure how my body would react (not supposed to have it with my candidia problem) I thought I would go with raw apple cider vinegar. Turns out the dressing is nice and mellow, almost sweet with the peaches and balanced nicely with the black pepper. I have used up my fruit allowance for the week with this recipe, so the next time I have this I will omit the dates.

Summer Peach and Fresh Garden Greens Salad

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup raw apple cider vinegar
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper
  • salt to taste
  • 3 large ripe Ontario peaches, sliced
  • 3 pitted dates (no added honey or sugars)
  • 6 cups greens such as baby arugula, frisee, black kale and nasturtium leaves
  • 1 Tbsp walnuts
  • 1 Tbsp pecans
  • 1 tsp sunflower seeds

Preparation:

Combine the dressing ingredients in a mixing bowl, and whisk to combine. Add the peach chunks and toss to coat. Let sit at room temperature for 10-15 minutes.
Remove stems from greens, combine with peaches. Spoon the chopped dates and sunflowers over salads and serve on chilled plates.
Serves 2, for lunch.

 

Leave a Reply

